The Kinks' Dave Davies Reveals Complete Details of New Live Solo Album, “Rippin' Up New York City”

Red River EntertainmentKinks guitarist Dave Davies has announced full details about his upcoming live album, which is titled Rippin’ Up New York City: Live at the City Winery.  Scheduled for a September 4 release, the 15-song collection features a mix of classic Kinks songs and tunes from Davies’ 2014 studio effort, Rippin’ Up Time, as well as a few other selections from his solo catalog.

The album was recorded at two shows that the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer played this past November at the Big Apple venue the City Winery.  Davies was accompanied by a backing band that featured guest drummer Dennis Diken of The Smithereens, as well as guitarist Jonathan Lea and bassist/keyboardist Tom Currier.

Among the Kinks tunes Dave played are “You Really Got Me,” “All Day and All of the Night,” “Where Have All the Good Times Gone,” “I’m Not Like Everybody Else,” “I Need You,” “Death of a Clown” and “Livin’ on a Thin Line.”

As previously reported, the 68-year-old rocker will support Rippin’ Up New York City with a U.S. tour that gets under way with an October 2-4 stand at the Big E fair in West Springfield, Massachusetts, and is plotted out through a November 3 concert at The Roxy Theatre in West Hollywood, California.

“I’m very excited about the live album and the band sounds great,” says Davies in a statement.  “My son Simon did a great job helping me with the production.  I look forward to seeing you all on the road this fall.”

Here is the complete track list for Rippin’ Up New York City:

“Rippin’ Up Time”
“I’m Not Like Everybody Else”
“I Need You”
“Creepin’ Jean”
“Suzannah’s Still Alive”
“See My Friend”
“Flowers in the Rain”
“Front Room”
“King of Karaoke”
“Death of a Clown”
“Livin’ on a Thin Line”
“Where Have All the Good Times Gone”
“All Day and All of the Night”
“You Really Got Me”

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.