Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan Hosting Biggest ACM Awards Broadcast Ever Sunday Night

Image Courtesy ACMBlake Shelton and Luke Bryan are back for a third turn as co-hosts of ACM Awards, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this Sunday. Instead of airing from its traditional locale in Las Vegas, this year’s big anniversary show broadcasts live from the 60,000-seat AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, and the hosts want viewers to know it’s taken a lot of planning to get to this point.

Luke says, “Some of the people in charge showed me and Blake plans of it the first year we hosted, so this hasn’t been just a snap your fingers and make this thing happen. They’ve worked hard.”

The talent lineup will be just as impressive as the massive production elements producers have in store for Sunday night’s show.

Says Blake, “It’s gonna be the biggest stars in country music, and when I say biggest stars, I mean from past, present, future. It’s all gonna come together.”

So, why are the ACM Awards organizers allowing Luke and Blake to come back and emcee the entire evening?

Blake says with a laugh, “We’re the only two in country music that can read. I’m telling you. Have you met some of these artists? God almighty. Idiots.”

When Luke suggests the illiterate country stars try Hooked on Phonics, Blake shoots back, “I think you gotta be able to read to even start that.”

Luke and Blake are also set to perform on the ACM Awards along with Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Alan Jackson, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Brad Paisley, Reba, George Strait, Keith Urban, Brooks & Dunn, Florida Georgia Line, Lady Antebellum and Little Big Town. Rascal Flatts will sing a duet with Christina Aguilera, and Dan + Shay are teaming up with Nick Jonas. New artist nominees Thomas Rhett, Cole Swindell and Sam Hunt are also performing.

Here are the nominees for the 50th Annual ACM Awards:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Florida Georgia Line

Female Vocalist of the Year
Brandy Clark
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

New Artist of the Year
Sam Hunt
Thomas Rhett
Cole Swindell

Album of the Year
Old Boots, New Dirt, Jason Aldean
Pain Killer, Little Big Town
Platinum, Miranda Lambert
Riser, Dierks Bentley
The Outsiders, Eric Church

Song of the Year (Award to Songwriter)
“American Kids,” Kenny Chesney
“Automatic,” Miranda Lambert
“Drink a Beer,” Luke Bryan
“Follow Your Arrow,” Kacey Musgraves
“Give Me Back My Hometown,” Eric Church
“I Hold On,” Dierks Bentley

Single Record of the Year
“American Kids,” Kenny Chesney
“Automatic,” Miranda Lambert
“Dirt,” Florida Georgia Line
“Drunk on a Plane,” Dierks Bentley
“I Don’t Dance, “Lee Brice

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae
The Swon Brothers

Vocal Event of the Year
“Lonely Tonight,” Blake Shelton featuring Ashley Monroe
“Meanwhile Back at Mama’s,” Tim McGraw featuring Faith Hill
“Somethin’ Bad,” Miranda Lambert Duet with Carrie Underwood
“The South,” The Cadillac Three featuring Florida Georgia Line, Dierks Bentley and Mike Eli
“This Is How We Roll,” Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan

Video of the Year
“American Kids,” Kenny Chesney
“Cop Car,” Keith Urban
“Drunk on a Plane,” Dierks Bentley
“I’m Not Gonna Miss You,” Glen Campbell
“Somethin’ Bad,” Miranda Lambert Duet with Carrie Underwood

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.